Skip to content
Hartlepool Counts — Hartlepool, in numbers.Local help →

Hartlepool, in numbers

People and living standards

Hartlepool council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hartlepool council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 91,058 in 1991 to 99,656 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hartlepool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 90,397 people in 1996; 99,656 people in 2025. 10.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199191,058
199291,225
199391,081
199491,027
199590,673
199690,397
199789,921
199889,753
199989,680
200089,811
200190,152
200289,993
200390,134
200490,317
200590,457
200690,781
200790,969
200891,379
200991,530
201091,773
201192,088
201292,344
201392,465
201492,358
201592,125
201692,260
201792,306
201892,288
201992,401
202092,202
202192,575
202294,058
202395,717
202497,868
202599,656
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hartlepool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,296 people in 1996; 18,557 people in 2025. 8.6% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,155
199220,258
199320,359
199420,499
199520,426
199620,296
199720,170
199819,949
199919,996
200019,820
200119,682
200219,391
200319,194
200419,021
200518,809
200618,753
200718,462
200818,260
200918,074
201017,929
201117,757
201217,789
201317,735
201417,660
201517,584
201617,661
201717,727
201817,773
201917,856
202017,685
202117,612
202217,784
202318,098
202418,427
202518,557
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hartlepool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,344 people in 1996; 60,885 people in 2025. 8.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199157,519
199257,501
199357,199
199456,931
199556,562
199656,344
199755,897
199855,807
199955,606
200055,788
200156,018
200255,999
200356,208
200456,352
200556,703
200657,108
200757,539
200858,136
200958,287
201058,384
201158,643
201258,382
201358,150
201457,677
201557,379
201657,297
201757,075
201856,760
201956,587
202056,435
202156,627
202257,518
202358,520
202459,747
202560,885
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hartlepool council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,757 people in 1996; 20,214 people in 2025. 46.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,384
199213,466
199313,523
199413,597
199513,685
199613,757
199713,854
199813,997
199914,078
200014,203
200114,452
200214,603
200314,732
200414,944
200514,945
200614,920
200714,968
200814,983
200915,169
201015,460
201115,688
201216,173
201316,580
201417,021
201517,162
201617,302
201717,504
201817,755
201917,958
202018,082
202118,336
202218,756
202319,099
202419,694
202520,214
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 92,338 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hartlepool · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,6001.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4450.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6710.7%
White89,06896.5%
Other ethnic group5540.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 92,028 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hartlepool · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,89997.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5500.6%
Asian/Asian British1,3041.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1700.2%
Other ethnic group1050.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 88,611 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hartlepool · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White87,56998.8%
Mixed3110.4%
Asian/Asian British4920.6%
Black/Black British700.1%
Chinese/Other1690.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hartlepool council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,273 per person in 1997; £20,080 per person in 2024. 142.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,273
19988,315
19998,799
20009,110
20019,558
20029,914
200310,113
200410,492
200510,990
200611,473
200711,798
200812,156
200912,687
201012,902
201113,253
201213,705
201313,884
201414,333
201514,749
201614,996
201715,236
201815,828
201916,233
202016,455
202117,292
202217,957
202319,095
202420,080
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hartlepool council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -22% in 1997; -22.7% in 2024. 0.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hartlepool council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-22
1998-23.2
1999-22.2
2000-23.5
2001-22.7
2002-21.6
2003-22.4
2004-22.7
2005-21.8
2006-21.7
2007-23.1
2008-22.8
2009-20.8
2010-20.1
2011-18.7
2012-18.9
2013-20.7
2014-20.7
2015-22.5
2016-22.1
2017-22.7
2018-22.5
2019-23
2020-21.6
2021-20.8
2022-21.8
2023-21.9
2024-22.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

50.5%

21 March 2021 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

24.3%

21 March 2021 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

23.1%

21 March 2021 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

8%

21 March 2021 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£137,000

July 2026 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£558

August 2026 · Hartlepool council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.